Mr.Limpet meets cemetery goldfish

IMG_3004.PNG

We stopped every day,

Yellow Dog and I,  to visit giant koi in

The cemetery waterfall

Living their stagnant lives

Circling in fetid water

Under the watchful eye of

Sugar beet smoking stacks.

Some the size of terriers

Likely 20 years old

About the same amount of time I

Have circled around those same motionless towers.

I knew each by sight. Had names for them

Smoky, Gator, Fluffy…..

I told them confidences I wouldn’t dream to tell you

Made wishes into their faltering fountain

Someone poisoned the fish today

The. sight. of. such. violence. leveled. me.

I mourned for every love I have lost

As I gaped at workmen dragging their catch

Into funereal  black trash bags.

I had to see.

Stumbling through tears

I stared at each of my former pals

I had to be sure

There was none wearing spectacles

One comment

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

