Nailed it

I pick up nails when Yellowdog walks me.

Disregarding ice cemented by January,

Or scalding asphalt in July.

A dangerous occupation, bending to fish out a single

Rusty nail.

Dirty and foolish.

Vertigo spins  my horizon madly with simple efforts.

But I pick up nails all the same.

It’s a gift I give to you.

It’s all I have.

Seems so little to do for humankind

On a day when I feel so helpless

At a loss how to ensure the survival of kindness.

I hope.

It means each day there will be

One less…..

        Middle of nowhere

        Middle of night

        Middle of a dirt road

        Middle of a blizzard

Flat tire.

It seems so little

But it’s all I can do.

Maybe

You will do it for me.

Together

One rusted nail at a time.

5 comments

  1. Yes you nailed it! You will never know if or who you save from the disaster of a flat. But, it is a worthy effort. Good to see you back writing.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

