Mullin’ Mullein Take two

Rachel writes,

I have risen from near ghost

to near human

I ponder. She is right

as my finicky appetite

nibbles whole pickled garlic cloves

rolled in raw spinach and fresh snow peas

A garden I struggled to plant in March.

The peas in their pods so tiny

My fantail goldfish beg to me from their bowl.

I love to share with them

as they swallow the tiny bites whole.

 

image

It’s a far place I am
In my garden, tending, mullein
Far from where I wintered
on the plains as a ghost
stumbling through invisible snowbanks
now flooded banks

I feel rich. Eating radishes more or less washed
right from the bed.
Mullein does that.
image

Maybe because it, too
feels nameless with a hundred comforting names
Beggars Blanket
Candlewick
Flannelflower
Velvet Ice
Oreille de Saint Cloud

Useless weed
with endless uses
heals cough, earache, stomachache
burns, wounds.

Wikipedia doesn’t include
vertigo or rue in its list

powerfull
I am
float floating a bit, still.
in my horse tank
turned back yard pool
as the fog burns off slowly this chilly summer
image

Dad texts me.
once lost in fog,
one’s sense never seems the same
feeling as if the sun rises in the north
or the road twists when it should curve

for me, the sun will set in the south from now on
and my dress size settles there too
As the old ache in my belly from doctors orders
is soothed by fried chicken, ice cream, and potato chips
bacon on my organic spinach salad
spiked with mullin’

Rachel writes.
I have come back from
near ghost to human

Riches found
in Beggars Blanket
Fluffweed
Welcome de Saint Cloud
Sloughing off the fog

3 comments

  1. always yarrow for a toothache too. per the INDINS…and yes throw down the fresh raw raw,,, give me salty chips and brownies o delites. .. a life in a pea pod

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

