Tenacity

ivy 1

 

Tenacity

the sun shines through the window

pane

reminding me life is

not in vain.

I have grown

in places that provide

no nourishment for my soul.

I am an orphan and a parent with no child

still thriving in a place

of drought and famine

I squeeze through head locks

Of a swallowed key.

bending, not blending

de spite.

fears that  I may lose this light

clinging to the shelter of safety

perhaps I can find the courage

to be restored

to my more adventurous nature

reaching for sun

With my back to the brick
My face to illumination
I will myself

to lift my head
When I would rather fall to tile
lie limp on rock

I feel parts of me meant to die

I want to live

Breaking into freedom
I am a Berliner
The Wall stands while I crawl

I grace the walls of normalcy.

 

a collaborative piece from Writer’s Bloc contributors Halcyon Spinz, Kelley White, K Roane

2 comments

  1. back up against the wall. support ahh can lean and replenish, refresh, rejuvenate. head up chest out onward ever forward. physical only..spirituality never ends

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

