box with wires


I seem to hunger for
the Impossible Situation.

thousand lifetimes spent
Laboriously educating
pulling the scraps of knowledge
from those who lingered.
pushing stone wheels.

A daily grind of waking
to turbulent, pugilistic, bellicose.
body

Of disinterested persons.

Skirmishes against statutes, decrees, dictators

those who could not.
would not. love me

Pursuit of the impossible
my Motto
Mantra.

I seemed to starve for it.

Now with all the possibilities
eclipsed
or
elapsed

I seek battles.

In angry birds, spider solitaire , mahjong
Chess, scrabble, call of Atlantis
Gambles against computers
Wired to win.
I agonize over the possibility
Of two moves.
Always it seems I choose
Poorly.

i play until my neck freezes
my funny bone aches
and my eyes cross.

it’s me. still fighting.
against the odds.

2 comments

  1. I immediately thought of the huge wind turbines on the windy ridge near Peetz, Colorado and you charging them on a fierce steed; jousting weapon at the ready. With them, you can win when the wind stops–but it doesn’t there. Wonderful writing!

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

