golf on the steppes

I lack adequate entertainment
I know that.
And know it is just because
I am me.

But I find my own stride
My own song.
I walk to worship any
Particular color the sky
Happens to be

Peregrine falcon floats
Aside me as I roam
A wasteland
once alfalfa

he seems to have
enfolded me
after years
together along the gully
Of a dry canal bed.

Swoops low
Guarding
Watching
Wondering

We are old friends now
For he no longer cries
When I invade his territory

Just beneath
I play a truly ridiculous
game with the prairie dogs.
I drop
Findings
In their holes.
paper, plastic, metals, rocks

Golf balls, mostly
And listen to them clatter into
Earth depths

My head plays a made for Discovery
Docudrama.
Prairie Dunes Headlines
“Strange objects falling into Our Homes”

The next move
Must wait
Until
Tomorrow
Or
Tomorrow’s tomorrow.

When the ball
Surfaces, sparkling
A quarter mile from the drop.

we laugh.
the Seer Falcon
and
I.
steppe.

4 comments

  1. I love this:

    I walk to worship any
    Particular color the sky
    Happens to be

    I often search the sky for colors. I am always in awe of what I find even if they seem familiar somehow the colors always have a fresh, new blend.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

