Elijah

cowriter Ken Levy
.
.
It’s cold, dry
Still dark on windswept plain
I sift through fog
Searching for another
Room in an abandoned house
Weathered planks stab at me
From a creaky floor
I step carefully through the haze
Trip
Clumsy, clumsy

It’s those splinters of you
That I don’t see
That make me stumble and fall

The dust around me
Choking
Stifling
I beg for water.
While two thousand miles away
You wait in rain
And rain

I feel crackle
Hear static on the line

Rain holds the same rhythm
Of a weeping heart
In my dreams, I wake and I reach for you
In reality
I awaken and I reach
Reach for you

Like prophets of old
I reach through fire
For one salty
Drop

5 comments

  1. Oh this is heartbreaking you two…. “It’s those splinters of you That I don’t see
    That make me stumble and fall” – this is great writing but oh so sad. You guys OK? – Carla

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

