Systeme restore

 
Cowriter Kenneth Levy
.
.
.
.

what if we could restore crashed hearts,
in much the same way 
we can restore a computer hard drive. 
Fix mistakes from the past.
Ctrl, Alt, Delete,
open the Task
Manager,
turn back the clock.
 
the buttons within such easy reach
I could find them
read my heart’s manual
find a way back to the time
the date ​​the day 
when we were real.
 
Normal.
 
Find the place where you didn’t exist.
As I drum my fingers along the sore spaces
between my ribs 
where you laid your head.
I feel your hair slide across my skin
When it didn’t hurt
when I pressed against your empty pillow
when the words I spoke seemed to be ours
before my brain read everything as a foreign tongue
upside down chinese
I have tried
 
Compressing all the memories of the hurt 10001000000111001000000100001
 
dissonant voices break into my sorrow song
 
Crash
resume
Restart
restore.
Hard drive erase.
try again?
restore not available.
system recovery?
 
I push. Push. Push. to control the panes
like reading braille through space
I cannot erase the memories of your
Air and mine in the same sweet place
if I try I can almost.
Almost.
touch
 
system overload.
try again.
Re boo t.
Create restore point,
restore in progress,
 
I have no more energy
no more motivation or drive
but plenty
still plenty memory
in real time
in that time
 
 
it seems lost all
lost
like my heart’s lifeguard
I hear the monitor of its arrhythmic beat
i stare at the screen
see the Windows of my own eyes
 
i see the tell tale crying wrinkles
drying droplets on glass
 
the mechanism taunts me.
please be patient.
do not power off .
your pc.
personal culprit.
 
restore time remaining
50 miseries
it seems like I am in the grasp
of some wicked plan
to keep me wrapped in wire and static
30 miseries remaining.
 
while you go completely dark

 
I wish I could ask you one more time
just one more question
just one day sooner
one month sooner.
 

as if my energy alone
could power us.

The hum  starts again
…the clicks…then the beep and blips.
 
Please enter password…
this is where my fingers go numb
one word
a simple word that could call out to you
make you find your way through wire and wisp 
 
 
and I stare at the IV drip
of you flowing back into my arms
and i hope
 
but hope is the cruelest
and I can bear no more
I slam my fist
Again st
the
off
button.

2 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Levybrakes and commented:
    Line by line work written with and posted by la fey wit. A wonderful write with lot of great tips and inspiration.
    Visit her blog @https://lafeywit.wordpress.com/

  2. HOLY Pain Body. You two should make a habit of writing line by line. Lines that made my eyes widen and pause:

    find a way back to the time
    the date ​​the day
    when we were real.

    Compressing all the memories of the hurt 10001000000111001000000100001

    dissonant voices break into my sorrow song

    30 miseries remaining.

    while you go completely dark
    as if my energy alone
    could power us.

    and I stare at the IV drip
    of you flowing back into my arms

    I slam my fist
    Again st (pure Fey in this line!)
    the
    off
    button.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

