did you see what I saw?


While computers buzzed,
carols hummed in the shockingly
brisk air.
twitters bickered, tweets zapping through
the midnight.

I ignored all the electronic peeps
(A little miracle of its own).
For within a perfect
Still
December Dark,
In the east
a star went super nova

I lay on
Winter’s crisp
Solstice plain
Clumsily watching
Venus and
Saturn’s rings
Through third rate binoculars
Marveling at
That which
We call shooting stars.
As my eyelashes slowly froze
I wondered why
They say
Miracles happen only
Every few thousand years
Or so.

4 comments

  1. I often enjoy the same type of a miracle. In fact it is a little scary to realize that the heavens stay out there and have done so doe a long time, but may not always do so.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

