playgrounds


as an elementary school teacher,
even these years later,
never could i comprehend
why kids, despite stern warnings
screeched at ear shattering pitches
as they ran toward recess
doors
toward bright colored plastic slides
and head bonking shiny metal bars

today i know
aboard my own bright sky blue bike
with fall’s coloring
leaves scattering
like tiny clouds around
my ludricrous helmet.

i know.
for i feel
that shriek of liberty
every day, every hour
silent
but gurgling in my own
cortex

I feel it searching
for Ra’s cloudsky.
not today.
but soon
soon
I’ll be as brave
as they.

2 comments

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

