never

Never
so they say
stare directly at the Sun.
I couldn’t help myself
I did it anyway.
confessing
that it was
quickly eaten away
by the roiling red street clouds.

welcome, welcome
after summer’s blaze.
I stared until She slid from view.

I can still see fine.
blinded only by the risks
I have taken and lost
And a larger volume of risks
I could have taken
and lost.
She’ll be back.
Chance, Risk, Fate, Fortune, Luck.
I’ll likely
stare Her down again.
It’s all the gambling I have left in me.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

