Earth movers

I’ve already hugged all the trees
on this block
a few dozen times
rid the streets of trash.
only one act of heroism remains
I can see it must be done.

The rains have passed.
I could not expect
invertebrates
to recognize they were
headed.
if I could actually distinguish their heads….
in the wrong direction.
worming their way out of trouble
but squirming toward tar.

I forgot to wear my gloves
but I do it any way
with my face in a sort of
scrunch.
I pick confused night crawlers,
from cement and gutter
and
toss Them to the damp grass.

a few seem a little stiff
furthering the Yuck factor.
it’s all I can think to do.
a desperate citizen on a
world bent on destroying itself
by creating its own disease.
the sleet is marring my vision
but could I see Them
turn to nod before
diving for the wet, fallen leaves?

One comment

  1. Every poem takes my breath away. Favorite line: “a desperate citizen on a
    world bent on destroying itself by creating its own disease…” ***mcb***

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

