Dust Devil

Wind here talks
It sings, whistles, moans and howls
I listen for its
Reedlike voice calls to me
Still
A storm can sneak up on me.

A dust devil
Hitting me with mix of sky and land
Birds crushed by downburst blow
Metal, steel, dustbowl silt.
I cried and hid under
A propane tank
As it rained
Metal, steel, blackbirds, plastic and more plastic

My lungs filling with black talc
Coughing like a miner
Watching it whirl 
Plastic and steel across 
Perfectly plowed farmland

The wind here talks
And I listen 
For it cries.

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

