feathers fall

I warned you often of my

disappearance

and their appearance

I, but a column of chemicals

simultaneously

preserving and destroying me

barely maintain my tenuous grasp

suddenly the balance tips and I lean perilously to their left

tears and feathers surface and slide across

my pale, still face

disappearing easy

as I choose resiliently from the slender stacks

pulling back from that tentative bargain between

God and I choose

preservation

close so close

this time

I can still feel

percussion of angel wings

tell me what you think. There's a spot for your name and email, but it isn't necessary when posting a comment

